Map of Ribera del Duero

Download PDF Map of Ribera del Duero

Located in Spain’s northern plateau approximately an hour and a half from Madrid, Ribera del Duero extends over four provinces of Castilla y León: Burgos, Segovia, Soria and Valladolid.  Ribera, which means “river bank,” is defined in geographic and growing terms by the horizontal axis of the Duero River Valley; the Ribera region flows from both sides of the Duero, and benefits from the great diversity of soils deposited by the river.

Location: Four of the provinces of Castilla y León come together in the Ribera del Duero: Burgos, Segovia, Soria and Valladolid.
Area: 115 km (71 miles) long by 35 km (22 miles) wide
Average Altitude: 837 meters (2750 feet)
Average Rainfall: 450 mm (17.7 inches) per year
Weather: Dry summers, with temperatures of up to 40ºC (104ºF). Long, harsh winters, with temperatures reaching as low as -18ºC (-0.4ºF).